What is Tequila?

Tequila is one of the most popular alcoholic beverages in the world, and it’s known for its unique taste and the ability to bring people together. It’s often associated with parties and good times, but there’s much more to tequila than just a party drink. In this blog post, we’ll explore the history, production process, and fun facts about tequila.

What is Tequila?

Tequila is a distilled alcoholic beverage that’s made from the blue agave plant, which is primarily grown in the Tequila region of Mexico. Tequila can only be produced in Mexico, and it’s protected under the Designation of Origin law, which means that only tequila made in Mexico can legally be called tequila.

The History of Tequila

The history of tequila dates back to the 16th century when the Spanish arrived in Mexico and brought with them the distillation process. The indigenous people of Mexico had been using the blue agave plant for centuries for medicinal purposes and as a source of fiber. The Spanish saw the potential of the plant and started distilling it to make a spirit. The first tequila distillery was established in the late 18th century, and the rest, as they say, is history.

The Production Process

The production process of tequila is a lengthy one, and it involves several steps. The first step is the harvest of the blue agave plant, which takes between 8-12 years to mature. The plant is then cooked in an oven to convert its starches into sugars, which are then extracted to make a sweet juice called mosto. Mosto is then fermented for several days to produce a low-alcohol beer-like liquid. This liquid is then distilled two or three times to increase the alcohol content and produce the tequila we all know and love.

Types of Tequila

Tequila comes in several different varieties, each with its own unique taste and character. The four main types of tequila are:

  1. Blanco or Silver Tequila: This is the purest form of tequila and is bottled immediately after distillation. It has a clear color and a strong taste of agave.
  2. Reposado Tequila: This type of tequila is aged in oak barrels for between two and twelve months, giving it a golden color and a smoother taste.
  3. Añejo Tequila: Añejo tequila is aged in oak barrels for between one and three years, which gives it a rich, amber color and a complex flavor.
  4. Extra Añejo Tequila: This is the newest type of tequila, and it’s aged for a minimum of three years. It has a dark color and a smooth, woody taste.

Fun Facts about Tequila

  1. The blue agave plant can only be harvested once, so it’s essential to choose the right moment to harvest it.
  2. Tequila was first marketed in the United States in the early 20th century as a “Mexican whiskey.”
  3. The average tequila bottle has around 300 calories.
  4. The town of Tequila, located in the state of Jalisco, is where the majority of tequila production takes place.
  5. The Margarita is the most popular tequila-based cocktail in the world.

Tequila is more than just a party drink; it’s a spirit with a rich history, complex production process, and unique taste.

In Australia if you want a local, you need to look for Agave spirits and we have the list for you.